How Long Did It Take to Write Shadows of Morrow?

Leigh Jenkins' extraordinary artwork for the interior cover of Shadows of Morrow. Isn't she beautiful?
Leigh Jenkins’ extraordinary artwork for the interior cover of Shadows of Morrow. Isn’t she beautiful?

I am frequently asked by readers, “How long did it take to write Shadows of Morrow?” The answer to that is a tricky one. For years, four, to be precise. But let’s be honest. For three of those years, I tinkered. I had no real direction. The idea that eventually became Shadows of Morrow didn’t come to my mind until just last year. I had some ground work already done: setting, characters, but plot? I had nothing. So in all honesty, it took about a year to push Shadows of Morrow from first draft to published book.

Once I had my direction, my road map, which was essentially a messy pile of index cards with chapter summaries, I was able to barrel full steam ahead. Now I have begun doing the same thing for Shadow of Morrow’s sequel, The O’Mara Vanishment. Now that I know the way, I am enjoying the writing process more than ever.

Leave a Reply

